About the Trade Competition Commission (TCC)


The Trade Competition Commission (TCC) is the primary mechanism in the supervision and enforcement of the Trade Competition Law. Previously, the Trade Competition Act B.E. 2542 imposed the structure of the Commission as follows; The Minister of the Ministry of Commerce as the President The Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Commerce as the Vice President The Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Finance as the Commissioner Moreover, the cabinet would consider the appointment of the Honorary Commissioners who are in the private sector for no less than half of the Commissioner. The Director- General of the Department of Internal Trade, who is the Secretary-General, would become the Commissioner and Secretary. It could be seen that the component of the Commission at that time consisted of 16 members which were excessive and lacked independence. The Commissioners failed to execute their job properly on a full-time basis, and that hindered the convenience to set up any meeting, and consequently, the submitted complaints’ consideration was delayed due to the inconsistency of operation.



During the period of the revision, of which result is the Trade Competition Act B.E. 2560, the importance of the Commission’s component was necessitated. As a consequence, the selection process for the Commissioner was reconsidered. The revised law regulates that the Commission should be consisted of 9 members including the Permanent Secretaries of the following ministries: The Ministry of Commerce, the Ministry of Finance, the Ministry of Industry, the Ministry of Agriculture and Operatives, the Ministry of Justice. The Secretary-General of the following institutes: of the Office of the National Economic and Social Development Council and the Office of the Consumer Protection Board. The President of the Chamber of Commerce and Board of Trade of Thailand and lastly, the President of the Federation of Thai Industries. The selection process has to be completed within 270 days.



The Trade Competition Act B.E. 2560 regulates that there should be 7 members in the Commission for the more flexible operation (The number of commissioners in international agencies that supervise trade competition is 5 to 9 members). The Commission should be comprised of a President of the Commission, a Vice President of the Commission and 5 other Commissioners. All members have to work on a full-time basis. The length of a term is 4 years and no member shall be in the Commission more than twice. The first batch of the Commission resulted from this Act is now in office according to the signed order from the Prime Minister’s Office no. 350/2561 dated on 27 December 2561.


  • facebook
  • youtube
  • line
  • map
  • Car Park Building 5 (BC) Floor 5 Government Complex
    Bangkok 10210


  • Copyright © Office of Trade Competition Commission, Kingdom of Thailand. All rights reserved
     Visits: 212835